Princeton University

Princeton Weekly Bulletin   February 26, 2007, Vol. 96, No. 17   prev   next   current

  • PWB logo
  • The Bulletin is published weekly during the academic year, except during University breaks and exam weeks, by the Office of Communications. Second class postage paid at Princeton. Postmaster: Send address changes to Princeton Weekly Bulletin, Office of Communications, Princeton University, 22 Chambers St., Suite 201, Princeton, NJ 08542. Permission is given to adapt, reprint or excerpt material from the Bulletin for use in other media.
  • Subscriptions. The Bulletin is distributed free to faculty, staff and students. Others may subscribe to the Bulletin for $30 for the 2006-07 academic year (half price for current Princeton parents and people over 65). Send a check to Office of Communications, Princeton University, 22 Chambers St., Suite 201, Princeton, NJ 08542.
  • Deadlines. In general, the copy deadline for each issue is the Friday 10 days in advance of the Monday cover date. The deadline for the Bulletin that covers March 12-25 is Friday, March 2. A complete publication schedule is available at pr/ pwb/ deadlines.html; or by calling (609) 258-3601.
  • Editor: Ruth Stevens

    Calendar editor: Shani Hilton

    Staff writers: Jennifer Greenstein Altmann, Eric Quiñones

    Contributing writers: Emily Aronson, Hilary Parker, Teresa Riordan

    Photographers: Denise Applewhite, John Jameson

    Design: Maggie Westergaard

    Web edition: Mahlon Lovett

  • PU shield

Tilghman names advisory committee on international opportunities

President Tilghman has appointed a group of faculty members to advise her on how the University can best respond to the challenges and opportunities in the international arena.

Tilghman has charged the President’s Advisory Committee on Internationalization with recommending how to develop a set of strategic priorities as well as “specific measures that will enable the University to fully realize our aspiration to be an American university with a broad international vision.”

The committee is chaired by Jeremy Adelman, chair of the Department of History and the Walter Samuel Carpenter III Professor in Spanish Civilization and Culture, and Anne-Marie Slaughter, dean of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs and the Bert G. Kerstetter ’66 University Professor of Politics and International Affairs.

“[Princeton] must be nimble enough to react creatively to new possibilities, and it must also be foresighted enough to pursue programs in ways that enhance and preserve the distinctive strengths of this University,” Tilghman wrote in the committee’s charge.

Tilghman has asked the group to look specifically at several questions:

  • Under what circumstances should Princeton enter into partnerships with research and educational institutions in other countries?
  • When, if ever, should Princeton consider establishing and operating overseas facilities?
  • Are there specific University roles or policies that currently create unnecessary barriers to the effective pursuit of international research or educational opportunities?
  • What funding mechanisms should the University pursue in order to support international research and educational opportunities on its campus?
  • How can the University more effectively promote its reputation abroad?

Tilghman noted that her charge does not include questions about study abroad opportunities for students. A separate effort to expand those programs, approved last fall by the University’s Academic Planning Group, already is under way.

She has asked the advisory committee to submit its report by July.

Other members of the group are: Mark Beissinger, professor of politics; Robert Keohane, professor of public and international affairs; Stephen Kotkin, professor of history and director of the Program in Russian and Eurasian Studies; Kai Li, the Charles C. Fitzmorris Professor of Computer Science; Susan Naquin, professor of history and East Asian studies; Katherine Newman, the Malcolm Stevenson Forbes, Class of 1941 Professor of Sociology and Public Affairs; Gideon Rosen, professor of philosophy, director of the Program in Humanistic Studies and chair of the Council of the Humanities; Daniel Rubenstein, chair and professor of ecology and evolutionary biology and director of the Program in African Studies; José Scheinkman, the Theodore A. Wells ’29 Professor of Economics; and Yigong Shi, professor of molecular biology.


© 2007 The Trustees of Princeton University
University Operator: 609-258-3000