PU shield
PWB logo




Lynne Johnson


Name: Lynne Johnson.

Position: Program administrator of the Freshman Seminar Program and coordinator of the course information system in the Office of the Dean of the College. Launching the online application process for freshman seminars and answering students' questions about the program. Working with all undergraduate programs and departments in readying new courses and reviewing permanent courses for the dean's approval.

Quote: ''I get to interact with members of every department on campus, and I like that part of my job. While I love technology, I also love people, and this position gives me an opportunity to have both.''

Other interests: Watching soccer and basketball with her husband, Kenny, and their four children. Singing and listening to gospel music, and writing.


President Emeritus Harold T. Shapiro has been named to the U.S. Olympic Committee board of directors.

He is one of four independent directors on the 11-member board, which is chaired by Peter Ueberroth, president of the Los Angeles Olympic Organizing Committee for the 1984 Olympic Games. The volunteer board sets policy and makes financial decisions, including the hiring and firing of top-level staff.

The USOC board of directors was chosen by a four-person nominating and governance committee, which reviewed almost 200 nominations for the four independent director positions on the board, as well as six nominations submitted by the National Governing Body Council and six submitted by the Athletes Advisory Council for four positions (two each) on the board. The U.S. members of the International Olympic Committee are automatically members of the USOC board of directors.

Shapiro, who earned his Ph.D. in economics from Princeton in 1964, returned to the University as president in 1988. After retiring from the presidency in 2001, he took a year's sabbatical, then returned to full-time teaching and research in the Department of Economics and the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs.

The University's purchasing department has been awarded the 2004 Achievement of Excellence in Procurement Award. The annual award is given to public or nonprofit organizations that demonstrate excellence in procurement by obtaining a high score on a rating of standardized criteria. The program is designed to measure innovation, professionalism, productivity, e-procurement and leadership attributes. The program was founded in 1995 by the National Purchasing Institute.