PU shield
PWB logo






Name: Daniel Boomhower.

Position: Assistant music librarian in the Mendel Music Library in Woolworth Center. Helping to provide resources and services for teaching and research to the faculty and students. Organizing and cataloguing specialized collections, including microfilm and sound recordings. Assisting in determining policies and directions for the online audio reserve service, which provides streaming music files to students in courses with listening assignments.

Quote: "I particularly enjoy working with the student workers in the music library. They're a very diverse group, and it's a good way to feel engaged with what's going on around campus, the activities and interests of the students."

Other interests: Reading about music. Playing the violin. Spending time with his 6-month-old daughter, Eleanor.




Three Princeton faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Election to membership is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded to a U.S. scientist or engineer.
     The faculty members are: Paul Chaikin, the Henry DeWolf Smyth Professor of Physics; Nicholas Katz, professor and chair of the Department of Mathematics; and George Philander, professor of geosciences. They were among 72 new members and 18 foreign associates elected this year, bringing the total number of active academy members to 1,949.
     Chaikin studies colloids and other areas of condensed matter physics. Katz's research centers on number theory and algebraic geometry. Philander focuses his work on climate fluctuations related to phenomena such as El Niño and La Niña.
     The National Academy of Sciences is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare.

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences has awarded its A.H. Heineken Prize for Environmental Sciences to Simon Levin, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology.
     The award, which includes a cash prize of $150,000, recognized Levin for "his insights into the effects of scale on ecosystems." Levin, the George Moffett Professor of Biology, has been a leader in applying mathematical approaches to studies of ecosystems across a wide range of scales, from the behavior and genetics of individual organisms to the dynamics of large populations. His 1992 article "The Problem of Pattern and Scale in Ecology" was the most cited article in the field during the 1990s.
     The Heineken Prize is awarded every two years to outstanding international scientists and scholars in the categories of biochemistry and biophysics, medicine, environmental sciences and history.