PU shield
PWB logo





Tonino Cifelli  

Name: Tonino Cifelli.

Position: Supervisor in building services. Overseeing maintenance and cleaning for Nassau Hall and several of the buildings in Forbes College. Supervising 12 staff members. Doing minor repairs in student rooms in Forbes.

Quote: "The students here are wonderful. They made me an honorary member of the classes of 1988 and 1997. The students are why I've worked here for 30 years. I want to ensure they are comfortable and don't miss home too much, so I do whatever I can for them."

Other interests: Working in his vegetable garden. Traveling to Europe and Montreal with his wife, Nancy. Playing ball with his 5-year-old grandson, Patrick.



The National Academy of Sciences has named Princeton physicist Joseph Taylor to a committee charged with re-evaluating the fate of the Hubble Space Telescope.
      The committee was formed as a result of a decision in January by NASA to cancel an upcoming space shuttle mission that would have conducted repairs and upgrades for the space telescope. Without the repairs and corrections to its orbit, the telescope would likely fail by about 2007, at least four years earlier than had been planned.
      The 20-member panel is called the "Committee on Assessment of Options for Extending the Life of the Hubble Space Telescope." It will review the safety of using the space shuttle to bring astronauts to the Hubble for a service mission. It also will examine the feasibility of alternative approaches involving robots.
      Taylor, the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Physics, is Princeton's former dean of the faculty. He specializes in experimental astrophysics and shared the 1993 Nobel Prize in physics for the discovery of a type of pulsar that allowed important studies of gravity.

Princeton emeritus professors have been awarded three of 16 fellowships through a program inaugurated this year by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
      The faculty members receiving the Mellon Emeritus Fellowships are: Wen Fong, the Edwards S. Sanford Professor of Art History Emeritus and professor of art and archaeology emeritus; Elaine Showalter, the Avalon Foundation Professor of the Humanities Emerita and professor of English emerita; and Theodore Ziolkowski, the Class of 1900 Professor of Modern Languages Emeritus and professor of Germanic languages and literatures and comparative literature emeritus.
      The fellowship provides support for research by outstanding scholars in the humanities and humanistic social sciences who remain active and productive in their fields after retirement. Each Mellon Emeritus Fellow will receive $35,000 for research and other related expenses, with an additional $20,000 going to the recipient's home institution to support access to resources and facilities.
      "Many Princeton faculty members continue to engage in active research and make important contributions to their fields after retirement," said President Tilghman. "With the Mellon Foundation's support, the extraordinary work of these three scholars will be significantly enhanced, benefiting them, their disciplines and the University."

Five Princeton faculty members have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are among 202 leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs elected in recognition of contri-butions to their respective fields.
      The Princeton faculty members are: Bernard Chazelle, professor of computer science; Michael Cook, the Cleveland E. Dodge Professor of Near Eastern Studies; Lyman Page, professor of physics; Bess Ward, professor of geosciences; and Michael Woodford, the Harold H. Helm '20 Professor of Economics and Banking.
      The American Academy of Arts and Sciences was founded in 1780 and currently has 4,500 members, including 150 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners.
      This two-color version of the four-color home page shows the new design, which plays up photos and includes buttons that link to audience pages for key constituencies.