President Tilghman was among 150 women leaders who gathered in Washington, D.C., May 3 for the inaugural National Women's Leadership Summit.
    An initiative of The White House Project, the summit brought together women from business, sports, philanthropy, academia, law, labor, communications and the public sector to chart a new course for expanding women's leadership. Other participants included playwright Eve Ensler, Ford Foundation president Susan Berresford, scientist and former astronaut Mae Jemison and Dina Dublon, chief financial officer of J.P. Morgan Chase.
    The conference leaders, Marie Wilson, president of The White House Project, and Heidi Miller, executive vice president of Bank One, led the top-level participants in examining issues facing women's leadership today, including "Where We Stand," "How to Get to the Tipping Point" of women's leadership, "Changing the Culture" and "Choosing to Lead."
    "Women's leadership is at a critical juncture -- we could either fall behind our current pace of progress or be poised for a quantum leap forward," Wilson said. "The goal is to broaden and deepen women's leadership in every sector and to set a new strategic agenda for that endeavor."
    The White House Project is a national, nonpartisan organization dedicated to advancing women's leadership in all spheres, including the U.S. presidency.

Joyce Carol Oates
has been selected by the Tulsa Library Trust as the recipient of the 2002 Peggy Helmerich Distinguished Author Award. She will receive a $25,000 cash prize and an engraved crystal book. The award will be presented in Tulsa in December.
    Oates, the Roger Berlind '52 Professor in the Humanities, has written many novels, including the recent "Faithless: Tales of Transgression" (2001). She also has written poetry, drama and literary criticism.
    The library trust has given out the Helmerich award annually since 1985. Past winners include Toni Morrison, the Goheen Professor in the Humanities, as well as Margaret Atwood, John Hope Franklin, Oliver Sacks, Norman Mailer, Neil Simon and Eudora Welty. 

Three Princeton faculty
members are among the 184 artists, scholars and scientists who received a 2002 Guggenheim Fellowship, an honor that recognizes exceptional achievement and supports promising projects.
    Each Guggenheim Fellow will receive a grant to support his or her work. The average grant for 2002 was $36,685.
    The Princeton professors and their proposed projects are:

Peter Lake, professor of history, for research on "Dynastic Crises, Confessional Politics and Conspiracy Theory in Post-Reformation England."

Vincent Poor, professor of electrical engineering, for research on "Quantum Multi-User Communications."

Howard Rosenthal, the Roger Williams Straus Professor of Social Sciences and professor of politics, for research on "Empirical Tests of Theories of the Legislative Process."

The Guggenheim Foundation, which awards the fellowships, selected this year's recipients from among more than 2,800 applicants for awards totaling $6,750,000.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

top     back     home