Two Princeton faculty members have been selected to receive the 2001 Rolf Schock Prize.

Saul Kripke, the McCosh Professor of Philosophy, Emeritus, has been chosen for the Schock Prize for Logic and Philosophy. He is being recognized "for his creation of the modal-logical semantics that bear his name and for his associated original and profound investigations of identity, reference and necessity," according to a news release from the Schock Foundation.

Elliott Lieb, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics and professor of mathematical physics, will be awarded the Schock Prize for Mathematics "for his outstanding work in mathematical physics, particularly his contribution to the mathematical understanding of the quantum-mechanical many-body theory and for his work on exact solutions of models in statistical mechanics and quantum mechanics," according to the release.

The two were selected by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. They will be honored in a ceremony Oct. 25 in Stockholm.

Michael Cook, the Cleveland Dodge Professor of Near Eastern Studies, and Burton Malkiel, the Chemical Bank Chairman's Professor of Economics, were among 38 scholars recently elected to the American Philosophical Society.

The country's oldest learned society was founded by Benjamin Franklin and friends more than 250 years ago. Today it is a renowned international organization of 868 members that promotes excellence and useful know-ledge in the sciences and humanities.

John Morgan, assistant professor of economics and public affairs, is one of 12 scholars awarded a Glenn Campbell and Rita Ricardo-Campbell National Fellowship for the 2001-02 academic year.

The fellowships provide junior scholars with a year free from teaching to advance their careers. The fellows work on an original research project at the Hoover Institution at Stanford University. Morgan's research topic is "The Art of Conversation: How the Flow of Information in Organizations Affects the Quality of Decision Making and Expert Advice."

The U.S. Department of Energy has selected Ken Young, a physicist at the Princeton Plasma Physics Lab, as the recipient of its Distinguished Associate Award.

The award cites Young for his role as "the leader of diagnostics develop-ment for the Tokamak Fusion Test Reactor, his subsequent contributions to the breakthrough measurements which are the TFTR legacy, and his very real efforts in behalf of collaborative fusion physics research, both within the U.S. and abroad."

Young, who holds his Ph.D. from Princeton, was head of the lab's international off-site research division until he retired this year.

Charles Neumeyer, who works at the Princeton Plasma Physics Lab, was named Engineer of the Year by the New Jersey Society of Professional Engineers.

Neumeyer is the lead project engineer for the National Spherical Torus Experiment, a fusion energy research device that began operating at PPPL in 1999.

The award cites Neumeyer for his outstanding achievements in engineering, his contributions to the development of fusion as a long-term energy source, and his service in enhancing the prestige of the engineering profession.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]