Office of Communications
22 Chambers St.
Princeton, New Jersey 08542
Telephone 609-258-3601; Fax 609-258-1301

For immediate release: June 15, 2004
Media contact: Patricia Allen, (609) 258-6108, pallen@princeton.edu

Princeton names six new trustees

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Princeton University has named six new members of its Board of Trustees. They are:

C. Kim Goodwin, managing director and chief investment officer for equities at State Street Research Management in Boston. She earned her A.B. in politics from Princeton in 1981. She has worked on behalf of Princeton's Alumni Schools Committee through which volunteers interview applicants for admission to the University.

Rishi Jaitly, who earned an A.B. in history from Princeton this year and is going to work in Washington, D.C., for College Summit, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving college enrollment rates among low-income students. He was vice president of the class of 2004 for four years, served as co-chair of the Projects Board of the Undergraduate Student Government and was student coordinator of the Crystal Tiger Award selection committee that honored U.S. Secretary of State Colin L. Powell earlier this year.

Heidi Miller, chief financial officer for BankOne in New York. A 1974 graduate in history, she served as a term trustee at Princeton from 1999 to 2003. During that time, she was chair of the trustee Committee on Information Technology and a member of the presidential search committee. She currently serves on the advisory council for Princeton's Bendheim Center for Finance.

Louise Sams, president of Turner Broadcasting's international operations and general counsel at the Atlanta-based company. She earned her A.B. in English from Princeton in 1979. A member of the University's Development Leadership Council and Women in Leadership Steering Committee, she served as a class agent for her 15th reunion and as chair of the Alumni Council's Committee to Nominate Alumni Trustees.

Eric Schmidt, chief executive officer and chairman of Google Inc. in Mountainview, Calif. He earned his B.S.E. in electrical engineering from Princeton in 1976. A member of the development office's Leadership Council, he has served on the advisory council for the Department of Computer Science. He also participated in the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences' strategic planning effort this year.

Terdema Ussery II, president and chief executive officer of the Dallas Mavericks professional basketball team and chief executive officer of HDNet, the first national high-definition movie channel. A 1981 graduate of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, he has remained connected to Princeton as a panelist at Reunions and through his work for the Alumni Schools Committee and annual giving.

The board elected Miller and Sams to 10-year terms as charter trustees, while it elected Schmidt for four years as a term trustee. Princeton alumni elected Goodwin and Ussery to four-year terms as alumni trustees, and the junior, senior and two youngest alumni classes elected Jaitly to a four-year term as a young alumni trustee. All trustees have the same power, authority and responsibilities.

The 40-member Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall direction of the University. It approves the operating and capital budgets, supervises the investment of the University's endowment and oversees campus real estate and long-range physical planning. The trustees also exercise review and approval concerning changes in major policies, such as those in instructional programs and admission, as well as tuition and fees and the hiring of faculty members.

These trustees have completed their terms on the board this year: Ruth Berkelman '73, Henry Kennedy Jr. '70, Spencer Merriweather III '00, Barry Munitz GS68, T.R. Reid III '66 and Meg Whitman '77.

back  |  top