Office of Communications
22 Chambers St.
Princeton, New Jersey 08542
Telephone 609-258-3601; Fax 609-258-1301

For immediate release: June 2, 2003
Contact: Steven Schultz, (609) 258-5729, sschultz@princeton.edu

Students honored for service and achievement at Class Day

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Members of the Class of 2003 celebrated the conclusion of their undergraduate education Monday in a Class Day ceremony that honored their achievements and reflected on their Princeton experiences.

Catherine Farmer, an operations research and financial engineering major from Murfreesboro, Tenn., received both the Class of 1901 Medal and the W. Sanderson Detwiler 1903 Prize. The 1901 Medal goes to the senior who, in the judgment of his or her classmates, has done the most for Princeton, while the Detwiler Prize goes to the senior who, in the judgment of classmates, has done the most for the class. Farmer served as senior class president.

Yashih Wu, an economics major from Agoura Hills, Calif., received the Frederick Douglass Service Award. The award recognizes a senior who has exhibited "courage, leadership, intellectual achievement and a willingness to contribute unselfishly toward a deeper understanding of the experiences of racial minorities."

Jessica Melore, a psychology major from Branchburg, N.J., received the Allen Macy Dulles '51 Award, which recognizes the senior whose activities best represent or exemplify the University's informal motto: "Princeton in the nation's service and in the service of all nations."

Marshall Owens and Patricia Fossas shared the Harold Willis Dodds Achievement Award, which is given to the senior who best embodies the example set by the 15th president of Princeton, "particularly in the qualities of clear thinking, moral courage, a patient and judicious regard for the opinion of others and a thoroughgoing devotion to the welfare of the University and the life of the mind." Owens is a Woodrow Wilson School major from San Antonio, Texas; Fossas, also a Woodrow Wilson School major, is from San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Daniel Stover and Michael Fletcher shared the Priscilla Glickman '92 Memorial Prize, which honors "independence and imagination in the area of community service." Stover, a molecular biology major from Columbus, Ohio, has been a volunteer and a coordinator for the Trenton Tots project of the Student Volunteers Council. He has served as co-chair of the SVC Board and was a Community Action leader and coordinator. Fletcher, a psychology major from East Orange, N.J., has been a volunteer and a project coordinator for Community House since his freshman year. He also works with Crossings, a new project that encourages John Witherspoon Middle School students to examine issues surrounding diversity.

Athletic awards

Adam Schwartz won the Class of 1916 Cup, which goes to the varsity letter winner with the highest academic standing. An economics major from Oak Brook, Ill., Schwartz was a member of the swimming team.

The William Roper Trophy, which honors "a Princeton senior of high scholastic rank and outstanding qualities of sportsmanship and general proficiency in athletics," was given to Cameron Atkinson, Greg Parker and David Yik. Atkinson, who played football and participated in track and field, is a chemistry major from Mantua, N.J. Parker, who was on the wrestling team, is a computer science major from Clifton Park, N.Y. Yik, a squash player, is an English major from North Vancouver, B.C.

The Otto von Kienbusch Sportswoman of the Year Award was shared by Rachael Becker, Heather Deerin, Andrea Kilbourne and Adele McCarthy-Beauvais. The award goes to "a senior woman of high scholastic rank who has demonstrated a general proficiency in athletics and the qualities of a true sportswoman." Becker, a psychology major from Broomall, Pa., played lacrosse and field hockey. Deerin, an English major from Livingston, N.J., played soccer. Kilbourne, a psychology major from Saranac Lake, N.Y., played ice hockey. McCarthy-Beauvais, an English major from Haydenville, Mass., played water polo.

Annamarie Holmes, Mindy Rostal and Daniel Stover shared the Arthur Lane Award, which is given by the Princeton Varsity Club to honor selfless contribution to sport and society by undergraduates. Holmes, an anthropology major from Apple Valley, Minn., played ice hockey. Rostal, an ecology and evolutionary biology major from Maplewood, Minn., was on the fencing team. Stover, a molecular biology major from Columbus, Ohio, was coxswain for the heavyweight crew team.

Honorary class members

The Class of 2003 also named four people as honorary members: Jerry Seinfeld, a comedian who addressed the graduating students at Class Day; Heddye Ducree, director of the Carl A. Fields Center for Equality and Cultural Understanding; The Rev. Sue Anne Steffey Morrow, associate dean of religious life and of the chapel; and A. Scott Berg, a member of Princeton's class of 1971, a Pulitzer Prize-winning author and a trustee of the University.

back  |  top