Office of Communications
22 Chambers St.
Princeton, New Jersey 08542
Telephone 609-258-3601; Fax 609-258-1301

For immediate release: May 31, 2004
Media contact: Patricia Allen, (609) 258-6108, pallen@princeton.edu

Editors: Photos are available at: http://www.princeton.edu/pr/news/04/q2/classday04/index.html

Students honored for service and achievement at Class Day

PRINCETON, N.J. -- The class of 2004 gathered on Princeton's Cannon Green Monday, May 31, to celebrate the conclusion of their undergraduate careers in a Class Day ceremony honoring their achievements and service.

Corey Sanders, a computer science major from Denville, N.J., received the Harold Willis Dodds Achievement Award, recognizing the senior who best embodies the qualities of Princeton's 15th president, Harold Dodds, "particularly in the qualities of clear thinking, moral courage, a patient and judicious regard for the opinion of others and a thorough devotion to the welfare of the University and the life of the mind." As president of the Inter-Club Council, the organization of eating club presidents, Sanders led efforts to improve alcohol awareness at the clubs, which included organizing alcohol-free concerts at his club, Quadrangle, and a street fair on Prospect last fall.

The Allen Macy Dulles '51 Award was given to Anne Healy, a Woodrow Wilson School major from Keene, N.H. The award goes to the senior whose activities best represent or exemplify the University's informal motto: "Princeton in the nation's service and in the service of all nations." Healy helped lead the Princeton Justice Project Housing Equity Committee and served on the executive board of Community House.

Taufiq Rahim, a Woodrow Wilson School major from Vancouver, British Columbia, received the Frederick Douglass Service Award, which is given to the senior who has exhibited "courage, leadership, intellectual achievement and a willingness to contribute unselfishly toward a deeper understanding of the experiences of racial minorities and who, in so doing, reflects the tradition of service embodied in education at Princeton." A columnist for The Daily Princetonian, Rahim has served as chair of the governance board at the Fields Center for Equality and Cultural Understanding, and he helped found the Global Issues Forum, which seeks to broaden the understanding of global affairs on campus.

The Class of 1901 Medal, which goes to the senior who, in the judgment of his or her classmates, has done the most for Princeton, was awarded to Rishi Jaitly, a history major from Greenwich, Conn. Jaitly, the vice president of the class, served as co-chair of the Projects Board of the Undergraduate Student Government and student coordinator of the Crystal Tiger Award selection committee.

Eli Goldsmith, president of the class for the last four years, received the W. Sanderson Detwiler 1903 Prize, awarded to the senior who, in the judgment of his or her classmates, has done the most for the class. Goldsmith, a politics major from Santa Barbara, Calif., directed the Class of 2004 Lecture Series, served as chair of the University Honor Committee and organized the first campus-wide assembly on integrity.

The Priscilla Glickman '92 Memorial Prize, which honors "independence and imagination in the area of community service," was given to Robin Williams. A Woodrow Wilson School major from Greensboro, N.C., Williams has held many leadership positions at the Student Volunteers Council, has worked in Ghana as an AIDS educator and has been a devoted "big brother" volunteer for the last three years.

Athletic Awards

Jonathan Nuger won the Class of 1916 Cup, which goes to the senior varsity letter winner with the highest academic standing. Nuger, a history major from Longmeadow, Mass., is a member of the men's golf team.

The William Roper Trophy, which honors "a Princeton senior of high scholastic rank and outstanding qualities of sportsmanship and general proficiency in athletics," was given to Ryan Boyle. A psychology major from Hunt Valley, Md., Boyle is one of only two players in lacrosse to be named Ivy League Player of the Year twice.

The Otto von Kienbusch Award was shared by Emily Kroshus, Claire Miller and Theresa Sherry. The award goes to "a senior woman of high scholastic rank who has demonstrated a general proficiency in athletics and the qualities of a true sportswoman." Kroshus, the 2003 heptagonal women's cross country champion, is an economics major from Calgary, Alberta. Miller, an English major from Scarsdale, N.Y., was the 2003 Ivy League Field Hockey Player of the Year. Sherry, the 2004 Ivy League Women's Lacrosse Player of the Year, is an anthropology major from Baltimore.

Brian McKenna, Vincent Vitale and Kevin Weiner shared the Arthur Lane '34 Award, which is given by the Princeton Varsity Club to honor selfless contribution to sport and society by undergraduates. McKenna, who is a politics major from Bala Cynwyd, Pa., is a member of the men's lightweight crew team. Vitale, a philosophy major from Point Pleasant Beach, N.J., played soccer. Weiner, a psychology major from Medford, N.J., is a member of the men's swimming team.

Honorary class members

The class of 2004 also named five people as honorary members: Rick Curtis, a member of the class of 1979 and the director of the Outdoor Action program; Thomas Dunne, associate dean of undergraduate students; Shelley Jannos, an administrative assistant in the Office of the Dean of Undergraduate Students; Jon Stewart, host of Comedy Central's "The Daily Show" and a speaker at Class Day; and Karen Woodbridge, associate director of community and state affairs and special assistant to the vice president for public affairs.

back  |  top